“Who Am I to Judge?”

Trump supporters efforts to justify their support for their leader reaches some extremes at times.  One of my favorites, often from the evangelicals is, “Who am I to judge?”  When I first heard that, I could not help but think, “Oh my gawd!  Who am I not to judge?”  Trump is mentally ill, this has been very apparent from early in last years campaign, and yet this lame justification is positing the notion that we should follow the admonishment of Jesus and “judge not that ye be not judged.”

But this lame-ass response comes from those  who fail to acknowledge that they judge in every other respect everyday.  They “judge” about anyone that is different from them, including blacks, Muslims, homosexuals, non-Christians, and basically anyone that fulfills their need for a “them.”  But after wielding that judgment mercilessly every day of their life, and doing so obnoxiously, with Trump they lamely and piously ask, “Who am I to judge?”  They are showing us that their judgment is very selective.  When someone or something comes along that fits their needs, that embodies all of the hidden dimensions of their heart, they are willing to say, “Well, maybe I won’t judge on this occasion.  Just who am I to judge anyway?  Why is everyone so hard on this man who is only a “baby Christian'”?

We cannot be human and fail to exercise judgment.  To think that one can is very naive.  Yes, I am here demonstrating “judgment” of Trump and “who am I to do so?”  My legal standing on this matter is that I have one eye and half sense, I am not stupid, I am not morally bankrupt, and I can see when “the emperor has no clothes on.”  But it is very important for me to note on this matter an axiom that I live by, “What you see is what you are.”  Though I judge Trump, and will continue to do so, “There go I but by the Grace of God” for I see so clearly how he articulates a dimension of my lily-white, faux-Christian ass that mercifully I learned to encase within a sense of basic civility and respect for others, i.e. “basic human decency.”  One simple example, I will never make fun of a handicapped person.

Leave a Reply

